Who’s Who Legal Awards: Sport & Entertainment 2020

The Who’s Who Legal (“WWL”): Sport & Entertainment 2020 Awards were announced today, and we are absolutely delighted that our Mark Hovell has been selected as Sports Lawyer of the Year, and Mills & Reeve LLP were announced as the Sports Firm of the Year!

See here for the announcement by WWL.

We are thrilled to receive these two international awards from WWL, especially as it is based on recommendation and feedback from clients and peers in the sports law industry worldwide.

In addition, Mark (Partner and Head of the Sports Law practice at Mills & Reeve LLP) has once again, along with Carol Couse (Partner) also been recognised as a ‘Global Elite Thought Leader’ for Sport, making Mills & Reeve the only law firm in the EMEA region, and one of two internationally to feature two lawyers ranked in this category.

In total, 3 of our lawyers were again recognised as leading international sports lawyers:

  • Mark was commended as an “extremely good” sports arbitrator who is considered “one of the best arbitrators in the market” as a result of his “calm and bright” approach.”

  • Carol was praised for being a “pleasure to work with” on sports law matters and is “focussed on client care and ensuring the finished product is of the highest quality”.

  • Tiran Gunawardena (Senior Associate) was also recognised again, as a “rising star” in the market with a “growing reputation” and has a particular forte in advising high-profile clients on regulatory and commercial matters.”

In addition, Mills & Reeve was once again selected as a ‘leading firm’ in the sports industry.

We are honoured to have received these two awards, and the team at Mills & Reeve is sincerely grateful to our clients and peers who voted for and recommended our lawyers.

Who’s Who Legal Ranking Methodology

WWL describes how they determine their Awards as follows:

What are the WWL Annual Awards?

Since 2005, WWL has identified a leading firm and practitioner across each our practice areas as WWL Firm/Lawyer/Expert of the Year in that area. In addition, we select a leading firm in over 80 jurisdictions globally. Since 2013, we have held an annual black-tie awards ceremony to celebrate the incredible achievements of these pre-eminent names in the legal profession.

How are the WWL Awards determined?

In judging the WWL awards we study the nominations made by clients and fellow professionals. Our bespoke database weights each recommendation according to the standing of the nominator: so a vote from the general counsel of a major corporation or one of the practice area's leading lights carries greater weight than that of a less frequently nominated lawyer. The individual who scores highest in our research is named as WWL Lawyer or Expert of the Year.

The firm awards are determined by the number of its members that feature in the publication as well as by the number of nominations its lawyers or experts have received during the course of the research.

We also give WWL awards to the outstanding firms in major jurisdictions around the globe. These are also determined by the number of nominees a firm has in the publication and by their standing within the research.

It is not necessary to submit for consideration for any of our awards. Any firm or individual listed in our research will automatically be considered, subject to the criteria above.

Our content explained

Every piece of content we create is correct on the date it’s published but please don’t rely on it as legal advice. If you’d like to speak to us about your own legal requirements, please contact one of our expert lawyers.

Posted by


Mills & Reeve Sites navigation
A tabbed collection of Mills & Reeve sites.
My Mills & Reeve navigation
Subscribe to, or manage your My Mills & Reeve account.
My M&R


Register for My M&R to stay up-to-date with legal news and events, create brochures and bookmark pages.

Existing clients

Log in to your client extranet for free matter information, know-how and documents.


Mills & Reeve system for employees.